Skip to content

SparkPlug Awards

The Keweenaw Community SparkPlug Awards is an annual community celebration that recognizes local businesses, organizations, community projects, and individuals for their efforts during the past year.


Award Categories

Growth - Company that has seen significant growth in employment and/or sales during the previous year.

Customer Service - Recognized by the community, other businesses, and customers for providing superior customer service.

Innovation / Transformation - New or existing company pursuing new products or services that hold great promise for local economic growth and employment.

Project of the Year – A high impact project that is notable within the community and will provide lasting benefits to businesses and community members.

Young Professional of the Year - A person under the age of 40 who made significant strides in our community and in their profession during the previous year.

Community Contributor of the Year - A individual or organization that has made significant strides in the development of our community.

First Responder of the Year - A first responder that went above and beyond to help keep our community safe during the previous year.

Youth Contributor of the Year - A school-aged individual that helped spark an improvement in our community through community service during the previous year.

Growth - Skinny Pete's Bakery
Customer Service - Keweenaw Coffee Works
Transformation/Innovation - Chicken Tramper Ultralight Gear
Project of the Year - Charlie Klein | Houghton Sheriff's Department
Young Professional of the Year - Brad Barnett | KCVB
Community Contributor of the Year - Rebecca Crane | Dial Help
First Responder of the Year - Dan Sarazin | Bootjack Fire Department
Youth Contributor of the Year - Maria Valet | Houghton High School